Every year World Cinema selects nine exceptional films from nine countries that get the chance to win the World Cinema Jury Award including a € 5000 cash prize meant for the production of the winner’s next project. Also our visitors can express their opinion about the films through the Audience Award ballots. Before and after the screenings – the audience can submit a score for the films. The title with the higher score wins the World Cinema Audience Award and a cash prize of € 5000.


Winners of previous editions

Jury Award: THE WOUND – John Trengove (South Africa)
Special Mention: BAR BAHAR – Maysaloun Hamoud (Israel)
Audience Award: FRONTIÈRES – Appoline Traoré (Burkina Faso)


Jury Award: AQUARIUS – Kleber Mendonça Filho (Brazil)
Audience Award: THE SALESMAN – Asghar Farhadi (Iran)


Jury Award: NECKTIE YOUTH – Sibs Shongwe-La Mer (South Africa, Netherlands)
Special Mention: MUSTANG – Deniz Gamze Ergüven (France, Germany, Turkey, Qatar)
Audience Award: QUE HORAS ELA VOLTA? – Anna Muylaert (Brazil)


Jury Award: LAS BUSQUEDAS – José Luis valle (Mexico)
Audience Award: DIFRET – Zeresenay Berhane Mehari (Ethiopia)


Jury Award: LA PISCINA – Carlos M. Quintela (Cuba)
Audience Award: THE LUNCHBOX – Ritesh Batra (India)


Jury Award: AL JUMA AL AKHEIRA (THE LAST FRIDAY) – Yahya al Abdallah (Jordan)
Special Mention ex æquo: POSTCARDS FROM THE ZOO – Edwin (Indonesia)
Special Mention ex æquo: REBELLE – Kim Nguyen (Canada/Congo)
Audience Award: REBELLE – Kim Nguyen (Canada/Congo)


Jury Award: PORFIRIO – Alejandro Landes (Colombia)
Special Mention: RISCADO – Gustavo Pizzi (Brazil)
Audience Award: A SEPARATION – Asghar Farhadi (Iran)


Jury Award: JUNTOS – Nicolás Pereda (Mexico)
Special Mention: UNCLE BOONMEE WHO CAN RECALL HIS PAST LIVES – Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Thailand)
Audience Award: BENDA BILILI!
NTR Broadcast Award: HONEY (BAL) – Semih Kaplanoglu (Turkey)