Festival Jury


Three film festivals, three festival directors, three jury members – this year Mariët Bakker, Serra Ciliv and Taco Ruighaver will choose the winner of the World Cinema Jury Award 2016.



Mariët Bakker (The Netherlands) has always shown her great love for African cinema. In 1987 she decided that it was the right moment to found a film festival featuring only African films: Africa in the Picture. She directed the festival until 2005.




Serra Ciliv

Serra Ciliv (Turkey) studied, among other things, political science. After finishing her studies she worked as editor in a philosophy magazine. In 2001 she co-founded the !f istanbul International Independent Film Festival where she’s been the director to date.




Taco Ruighaver

Taco Ruighaver (The Netherlands) was the director and Head of the Programming Department at the Movies That Matter Festival (previously known as Amnesty International Film Festival) for 15 years. This festival is known for a programming line oriented towards showcasing films that approach the subject of human rights and social equality and justice.